Do you lie to me sometimes? -monologue

Aakash
2 min readAug 21, 2024

--

Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

One of the reasons I fell in love with the stage was because it allowed me to be anybody. Just say it confidently, and people will believe in it.

On the backstage, I’m just a scared kid who’s not sure what he’d do or say.

And I still remember the feeling of playing an act on stage and saying words that would get me attention or love from the audience.

Sometimes, I feel like you’re doing the same thing. Like you’re playing a part, a role you’ve crafted.

I don’t know if it’s intentional, or maybe I’m overthinking. It’s just this nagging voice inside me saying something’s off.

I don’t know when this feeling started. It’s not about accusing you. It’s about me feeling lost.

So, I’m asking you: Do you lie to me sometimes?

Do you ever feel like you have to be someone you’re not?

Do you ever lie to yourself, to me, or the world?

Tell me because I’d understand, and I’d try to create such an environment where you don’t have to.

Is it a fear? Or maybe it’s a need for validation.

Maybe sometimes you’d say something to test me and see how I’d react?

Or is it something deeper you’re afraid to admit, even to yourself?

I want to know what scares you and what makes you happy. I genuinely want to know you, your story, your thoughts, and all the stuff related to you.

I want to know who you are when you’re not playing a role. When there’s no audience, no expectations. When you’re just you, stripped bare, vulnerable. I think that’s the person I’ll like more.

Maybe it’s because I overthink and remember every word you’ve said.

I’m not asking for you to change. I’m asking for you to be you.

The real you, not the one you think I want to see.

I want to tell you that you don’t have to create any other image of yourself. Because by just being yourself, you’re ‘Enough.’

--

--